All Hail McQueen

As I’ve previously said, this years fashion exhibit at the Met is Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty. This weekend was the opening and with that comes the annual Met Gala – my favorite red carpet event. Of course there was a lot of McQueen on the red carpet, but I was pleasantly surprised with many of the other designers as well. Below are my favorite 2011 Met Gala red carpet looks.

Diane Kruger in Jason Wu

I’ve heard Diane Kruger doesn’t have a stylist.. which would be pretty amazing because she is definitely one of the best dressed celebs out there. This is by far my favorite look of the night. Apparently this hand beaded Jason Wu dress took over 500 hours to sew.. thats a lot of child labor.

Gisele Bundchen in Alexander McQueen

I know it’s Gisele and her body is perfect, but how amazing does this McQueen gown look on her? Tom doesn’t look to shabby either.

Liv Tyler in Givenchy Haute Couture by Riccardo Tisci

I’m obsessed with this Givenchy dress.. the cut outs sewn on top of the mesh lining is genius. Its modern but angelic all at the same time. However, I have to admit I’m undecided about the yellow dip dye bottom, it almost looks like the dress is dirty. But I would have to image in person it looked better.. either way I love it.

Hailee Steinfeld in Stella McCartney

You have to give this girl credit, she’s like 15 or something and has very advanced style. Someone described her as looking like a modern day Juliet.. pretty accurate I’d say. And how about those Nicholas Kirkwood shoes? Amazing.

Sarah Jessica Parker in Alexander McQueen

Last, but certainly not least, is SJP in McQueen. I’ve never seen this dress before and I think it just may be one of my favorite McQueens. Its not overly dramatic but still has his signature pattern created with beads. I want one.. now.

I would also like to give honorable mentions to both Emma Roberts and Gwyneth Paltrow.. both of their looks were sleek and simple yet still show stoppers. But incase you haven’t caught on yet.. I like things a bit more dramatic.

Emma Roberts in Michael Kors

Gwyneth Paltrow in Stella McCartney

One thought on “All Hail McQueen

Leave a comment